Flavouring Kombucha with Essential Oils

If you follow me on Instagram or Facebook you may have seen the photo that I posted earlier this week regarding testing out some new and exciting Kombucha flavours. I promised an update so here it is. The result was AMAZE….ING. So much so that I wanted to share the recipe with my Boochie friends so that you can experience it for yourself.

wpid-20151117_065817.jpg

The background – I have tried a peppermint flavoured commercially bought kombucha that contained peppermint oil and spirulina. It was ok (but not fantastic)and it got me curious about how well essential oil would work in kombucha because some sites warn against using teas that contain oils during the main brewing process. Anyway I was inspired to test it out with the latest batch of kombucha that I had made.

I didn’t want to risk killing my kombucha SCOBY so I didn’t add essential oil to the brew until I did the second ferment (click here for more info on what the heck I’m talking about).

 

Green peppermint kombucha

wpid-20151119_181643.jpg

Ingredients

Instructions

Pour your homemade kombucha into your glass jar leaving a 2cm gap between the kombucha and the lid. Add the greens powder and 1 drop of peppermint oil. Secure the lid and leave in a dark place to ferment for 2 days, this will also increase the carbonation, then transfer to the fridge and enjoy. The greens powder will settle on the bottom of the bottle so just tip upside down a couple of times (with the lid on :-)) before pouring – don’t shake it.

 

Vanilla orange kombucha

wpid-20151119_181700.jpg

Ingredients

Instructions

Pour your homemade kombucha into your glass jar leaving a 2cm gap between the kombucha and the lid. Add 1 – 2 drops of Wild Orange oil and a small piece of the vanilla bean. I used a whole vanilla bean but that was after the seeds had been scraped out and had been sitting in vodka for months (FYI to make vanilla essence). Secure the lid and leave in a dark place to ferment for 2 days then transfer to the fridge and enjoy.

* I suspect this would also be delicious with grapefruit oil instead of orange and with a piece of a cinnamon stick instead of the vanilla bean.

 

Lemon and ginger kombucha (no photo sorry)

Ingredients

Instructions

Pour your homemade kombucha into your glass jar leaving a 2cm gap between the kombucha and the lid. Add 1 drop of lemon oil, the lemon wedge and the fresh ginger. Secure the lid and leave in a dark place to ferment for 2 days then transfer to the fridge and enjoy.

 

I would love to hear what you think of these flavours or if you have experimented with other essential oils.

If you want to purchase some quality essential oils feel free to get in contact with me at simplynourishingblog@gmail.com

2 thoughts on “Flavouring Kombucha with Essential Oils

  1. I’ve been experimenting with just a few drops of doterra oils after I’ve bottled my boochies. My faves so far are grapefruit and ginger =) ♡

Leave a Reply

