Probiotic rich coconut yoghurt

I’m a huge fan of coconut yoghurt (or yogurt) but find a lot of commercial brands are quite sweet not to mention expensive. Some also contain a few ingredients that I’d prefer to avoid so what better way than to avoid the nasties than to make it myself. I’ll admit I’ve tried a couple of different recipes before with failed attempt due to the temperature not being consistent but this recipe turned out perfectly. I hope it works out as good for you as it did for me.

Ingredients
1 Young green coconut, the meat and and water (room temperature)
1 400ml tin of organic full fat coconut cream (room temperature)
1 Probiotic capsule (preferably one that is kept refrigerated and contains a variety of strains)
1 tsp kombucha (optional)

*If you want an even thicker yoghurt you can add the meat from another young coconut and not add extra coconut water

Instructions

Add the flesh of the young coconut/s to a blender along with half of the coconut water and 400mls of organic coconut cream and blend until smooth (30 – 60 sec on high depending on your blender). Pour the contents into a sterilized glass jar (I used the one pictured at the end of this post), add the contents of a probiotic capsule and 1 tsp of kombucha and mix to distribute the probiotics. Cover with a clean tea towel or paper towel and place out of direct sunlight (or with a towel wrapped around it) for 24 – 48 hours. The longer you leave it the zingier tasting it will be. You can eat it straight away or transfer it to the fridge for a few hours to allow the yoghurt to thicken more.

wpid-20150421_084800.jpg

What to do with the coconut yoghurt

  • Eat it straight from the jar
  • Top muesli with yoghurt, fresh fruit, nuts or seeds
  • Make parfait by layering coconut yoghurt with granola and berries and top with coconut flakes and cacao nibs
  • Use in place of cream cheese
  • Add diced cucumber and serve as a side with curry
  • Add to your smoothies
  • Add to recipes that ask for yoghurt

wpid-img_20150421_085618.jpg

This photo was taken at about 24 (ish) hours before I transferred the mixture to the fridge where it thickened a bit more.

Edit: I made this recipe well before I had a thermomix but now that I have converted to being a thermomix owner I plan on trying this same recipe using the automated function of the TM5. I’ll let you know how I go :-).

One thought on “Probiotic rich coconut yoghurt

  1. Hey Sarana have you tried making coconut yoghurt using a couple of spoonful’s of your last yoghurt instead of a probiotic capsule? I tried it last week but not sure I got it quite right…have you got a thermomix recipe for this yet? Also, what’s your thoughts on adding a bit of honey/sugar for the bacteria to ‘eat’? Half the recipes I look at say its important to add, half don’t so am not sure what’s best? I would rather not add it if it isn’t needed but also want to make sure the bacteria stays ‘alive’…

Leave a Reply

