Sundried tomato bread (grain free, paleo)

Giving up bread wasn’t something that I missed terribly when I went gluten (and grain) free however the smell of freshly baked bread does take me back to my childhood days (that totally makes me sound old) when my mum would bake a loaf of bread in her bread maker. My all-time favourite was a slice of freshly made warm sun dried tomato and herb bread served with butter. Am I making you hungry yet?

I recently bought 1kg of organic sun dried tomatoes (not packed in nasty vegetable oils) through my co-op and my first thought when I unpacked these was that warm buttered sun dried tomato and herb bread from years ago. Naturally I challenged myself to create a paleo friendly version and I was quite happy with the result.

What I love about this bread is that it not only tastes great but can be eaten toasted (or not) and topped with your favourite toppings without it falling apart. Also unlike many paleo breads that contain almond flour, this one is nut free making it suitable for people with nut allergies or to pack for kids lunches if they attend a nut free school.

IMG_20150319_145720

Ingredients
6 large eggs (at room temperature)
¼ cup butter, coconut or olive oil (melted but not hot)
½ cup coconut flour
½ cup tapioca starch
1 tsp garlic powder
1 tsp dried Italian herbs or dried basil
Pinch of sea salt
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp apple cider vinegar
¼ cup diced sun dried tomatoes

Instructions
Preheat the oven to 180 degrees Celsius and line a bread loaf pan with greased paper
Beat the eggs in a food processor until frothy
Slowly add the melted butter or oil and process to combine
Add the dry ingredients (except for the baking powder) and process again until smooth
Finally add the baking powder, apple cider vinegar and sun dried tomatoes and pulse the food processor a couple of times just to combine the ingredients
Pour the batter into the loaf pan and bake for about 30 minutes or until a skewer comes out clean and the top is slightly browned

Enjoy

RanaSig

7 thoughts on “Sundried tomato bread (grain free, paleo)

  1. YUM this looks amazing:) Might try to sub. the coconut flour and also tapioca starch and see if dave will try it. xxxx good one – love Kate xxxx

Leave a Reply

