Soothing gummies

P1090278

As you may have read in my last post, my active October was not so active for about a week while I recovered from a nasty cold (first one in ages). It started as a headache and soon after my glands were swollen, nose running like a tap and I had a sore throat with a dry cough. I craved anything that would soothe my throat so was drinking and eating my weight (ok not quite) in lemon water, herbal teas, bone broth, vegetable soups and these gummies. Ok pity party over Rana.

Any time I was sick growing up my mum would encourage me to drink hot water with lemon, ginger and if game fresh garlic. These gummies are inspired from that old age remedy however I purposely omitted the garlic (your friends can thank me) and have added gelatin for its healing properties and so that these set like lollies… but much much healthier.

Gelatin is an important source of amino acids and is particularly high in Glycine (29%) and Proline (17.6%).  Glycine assists in energy production, reduces sugar cravings and improves sleep quality while Proline is involved in keeping the heart strong and is required for healthy hair, skin, nails and joints.

Other benefits of gelatin include anti inflammatory properties, improved muscle strength, soothes and heals the digestive tract, speeds the healing of wounds and helps to balance hormones.

The gelatin that I use and recommend is Great Lakes unflavoured gelatin (the red can). You can click here to see the full amino acid content and here for the definitions and functions of them.

 

Soothing gummies

P1090269

Ingredients

1 cup lemon water and .25 cup water

.5 – 1 tbsp* grated fresh or ground ginger

.5 tbsp raw local honey (for the antibacterial properties)

2 tbsp gelatin

* I used 1 tbsp of ground ginger (I didn’t have fresh on hand) when I made these and they tasted quite mild at the time but once my cold started clearing up I could tell these were stronger then initially thought. Hubby (who didn’t have a cold) said they were quite strong so perhaps start with half a tablespoon and adjust if you want.

 

Instructions

Combine all ingredients in a small saucepan over medium heat and whisk til the honey dissolves and no lumps from the gelatin remain. You will notice the mixture thicken slightly.

Turn the heat off and spoon the mixture into ice cube trays (I used heart shaped silicon ones from ikea) or pour into a baking tray so that you can shape as you wish once the gelatin has set.

Put the tray/s into the fridge or freezer to set for an hour and pop out of the tray when you feel like a couple.

These only take a couple of minutes to make but you can also keep these in the fridge (up to 2 weeks) or freezer (I’m guessing about 2 months) to have on hand when you start feeling a little under the weather.

 

Stay well,

RanaSig

One thought on “Soothing gummies

  1. Pingback: Nourish your gut – Step 1: Remove | Simply Nourishing

Leave a Reply

