Kale Chips

Anyone thats had dinner with me probably knows that I love adding salt to my food (hey I’m cutting back). I would rarely buy chips, but if they were in front me me, I may have had a handful, or 3.

 

For those of you who are finding it hard to give up the crispy, salty, processed, deep fried (am I putting you off yet) potato chips I present you with an alternative. And trust me this one is so much tastier, plus its healthy and takes literally 15 minutes to make. Perfect.

 

Baked Kale Chips

Ingredients

  • 1 bunch of kale: There are different varieties of Kale but this recipe works well with them all.
  • 2  Tbsp olive oil
  • Sea salt to taste
  • Optional: herbs, spices, garlic, coconut aminos, tamari, parmesen cheese or nutritional yeast to season

Instructions

  1. Rinse the kale in advance so that it can dry thoroughly before baking. If the kale isn’t dry, the chips may end up crewy and won’t keep for as long.
  2. Preheat the oven to 160 degrees delcius and line 2 baking trays with baking paper.
  3. Remove the center stems of the kale by running your fingers down each side and and either tear or cut up the leaves into bite size pieces.
  4. Toss the kale and olive oil together in a large bowl and sprinkle with salt. If your feeling adventurous, go ahead and add some extra seasonings. Try chilli flakes for that extra bite, coconut aminos or nutritional yeast flakes.
  5. Spread the kale on the prepared baking trays (don’t crowd them or they won’t be crispy) and bake for 10 – 15 minutes or until crisp.

kale_chips

Photo courtesy of http://myownprivatekitchen.blogspot.com.au

One thought on “Kale Chips

  1. Pingback: Sugar Free September – Update and Meals | Simply Nourishing

Leave a Reply

