Soft serve banana ice cream

 

This is such an easy treat to make and great for when you want something sweet after a meal. I had a big bag of frozen bananas in my freezer and because paleo treats such as this one are off limits while doing a Whole 30, I was pretty keen to have this again now that I’ve finished my latest Whole 30.

 

The best thing about this treat, other then the fact that it literally takes 2 minutes to make, is that its free from many allergens including gluten, dairy, refined sugar, nuts and soy. Its also completely paleo, vegan, kid and sweet tooth husband friendly.

 

Normally I would make this in my juicer (an Oscar VitalMax 900 that I purchased from Vitality4life) which an assortment of frozen fruits. The juicer is quick, effective and perfect for creating a big batch of fruit sorbet however there are quite a few parts to assemble and at this time I couldn’t be bothered dragging the juicer out, assembling and cleaning up. Had I been entertaining visitors, I would have used the juicer but for only myself and my husband, I decided that the food processor would do the trick. The food processor that I use is simply a small attachment for my hand held blender.

 

The result was very similar, the only downfall was that the ice cream melted quicker (because the banana is sliced and the food processor may heat up quicker), which isn’t a problem if like us you were eating it immediately. If not you could keep in the freezer for 10 – 20 minutes.

PhotoGrid_1396262158228

Ingredients (serves 2) SAMSUNG

  • 2 bananas, frozen and sliced
  • 1/4 cup coconut milk or cream
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract (optional)
  • Pinch salt

Instruction’s 

  • Place all the ingredients in your food processor and literally just whizz it for about 2 minutes until creamy.
  • Serve with a sprinkle of cinnamon (love cinnamon) and enjoy without guilt

Seriously… its that easy.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Soft serve banana ice cream

  1. Pingback: Its never to late for Easter treats. | Simply Nourishing

  2. Pingback: ‘Healthier’ Sugar Free Alternatives | Simply Nourishing

Leave a Reply

