Muffins

This recipe is inspired by my favourite muffin recipe. I make it weekly now as its such an easy to alter recipe, tastes great and is something I can pack for my husband to snack on at work. The original recipe is the Lemon Blueberry breakfast muffin in the book Practical Paleo but I always mix it up to create different varieties. My version of the muffins is as follows.

blueberrymuffins

Base ingredients*:

  • 6 eggs
  • 1/3 to 1/2 cup butter or coconut oil, melted
  • 1 tsp pure vanilla extract (optional)
  • Up to 1/4 cup honey or maple syrup (optional)**
  • 1/2 cup coconut flour
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda

Flavours (choose one option):

  • 1 lemon, juice and zest (add at step 1) and 1 cup blueberries
  • 2 sliced apples, 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 2 mashed bananas, 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 2 tbsp cacao powder (sift with coconut flour)
  • 1 sliced apple, 1/2 cup blueberries
  • 1-2 cups grated carrots, sprinkle of spices (all spice, nutmeg, cinnamon & ginger work well)
  • Savoury: leave out the vanilla extract and sweetener but add grated vegetables and diced meat or bacon

* I’m hopeless at measuring ingredients accurately especially now that I’ve made this recipe countless times. So much of my measures will be close estimates.

**The Practical Paleo recipe calls for 1/4 cup of maple syrup but I found this way too sweet. Occasionally I’ll leave a sweetener out altogether (the fruit is enough for me) but as my husband likes them sweeter I usually make these with either a couple of tablespoons of melted raw organic honey or a few dates that have been soaked in hot water to soften them.

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 160 degrees Celsius.

2. Whisk together the eggs, butter or coconut oil, vanilla extract and sweetener (if using) together in a large mixing bowl.  Its super easy to use a hand held blender or electric whisk for this step.

3. Sift in the coconut flour, sea salt, and baking soda and stir until well combined.

4. Add your flavour of choice and stir until just combined. If using blueberries, gently fold them in to avoid crushing them.

5. In a muffin tin, scoop 1/4 cup of the batter into each muffin cup (I use a silicone muffin pan to avoid them sticking and for easy clean up or glass dishes well greased and lined), and bake for approximately 30 minutes or until lightly browned on top. The original recipe calls for 35-40 mins but mine have burnt cooking for that long so I always check them after 20mins.

6. Remove from oven, let cool slightly and enjoy (easiest step). Store them in a sealed container in the fridge for up to a week or freeze them to enjoy later.

I would love to know what you think of them and how you go experimenting with your  own flavours. This week I think I’ll try a cacao nibs with peppermint extract version and a savoury option.

Have a great week :-).

Leave a Reply

